The National Technical University of Athens (NTUA) is the oldest and most prominent educational institution in Greece in the area of technology. It has greatly contributed to the scientific, technical and economic development of the country since it was established in 1836, only a few years after the founding of the Hellenic nation. Its name in greek (Metsovio) honors three great national benefactors C. Averoff, N. Stournaris, E. Tositsas, whose birthplace was Metsovo, a small historic town in northwestern Greece, in Epirus.